Leadership Awards

Gail L. Warden & Best Organizations for Leadership Development (BOLD)

NCHL recognizes leaders across the spectrum of healthcare via its leadership award programs.

Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award

The National Center for Healthcare Leadership is accepting nominations for the 2021 Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award. The Award honors a healthcare leader whose commitment, values, and contributions have improved the health of the public through leadership and organizational excellence. The Leadership Award is given to an individual who has made significant and lasting leadership contributions to the health and healthcare field. Nominees can represent any sector, including healthcare delivery, community health, public health, insurance, suppliers, public policy, government, professional/trade associations, research, and academic institutions. Nominees for the Award must be actively engaged in the field and have broad national influence. Self-nominations are not eligible.

The recipient of the 2021 GAIL L. WARDEN LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE AWARD will be honored at a celebration dinner during NCHL’s annual conference, November 15-17, 2021 in Chicago.

Nominations are due Friday, July 2, 2021

Please send the completed nomination form via email to LeAnn Swanson at lswanson@nchl.org

Read more about our previous award winners here.

2021 Gail L. Warden Leadership Award Selection Committee

  • Chair: Jill Schwieters, JAS & Associates
  • Nancy Howell Agee, Carilion Clinic
  • David Ertel, Vizient, Inc.
  • David Feinberg, MD, Google Health
  • Rod Hochman, MD, Providence and 2019 Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award
  • Joe Moscole, Northwell Health
  • Brian Peters, Michigan Health and Hospital Association
  • Beverly Malone, PhD, National League for Nursing, 2020 Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award
  • Leon Haley Jr., MD, UF Health Jacksonville
  • Carrie Harris-Muller, Ohio Health
  • Ann Hines, Sodexo
  • Tom Priselac, Cedars Sinai


Best Organizations for Leadership Development

Every two years, a team of researchers update the National Leadership Survey based on the state-of-the-science in leadership development. By completing the survey, participating organizations are able to be compare their approaches to leadership develop to evidence-based practice as well as other health systems using the customized scorecard generated from survey responses.

Organizations that have exemplary approaches to leadership development are also eligible for high-profile recognition as a part of the Best Organizations for Leadership Development (BOLD) program. Since 2014, the biennial BOLD Award recognizes hospitals and health systems that are leading the field in preparing current and future generations of leaders needed to transform our health system. BOLD top-ranking and honorable mention organizations are recognized at NCHL’s Human Capital Investment Conference in November. The BOLD program will run again in 2022.

Centura HealthAkron Children's Hospital
Children's Hospital of Los AngelesAnn & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago
Children's Health System of TexasAtrium Health
Cleveland ClinicHartford Healthcare
Cone HealthLucile Packard Children's Hospital at Stanford
Henry Ford Health SystemMount Sinai Health System
Intermountain HealthcareRush University Medical Center
Tampa General Hospital
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Contact Us to Learn More About BOLD