Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award


The Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award honors a healthcare leader whose commitment, values, and contributions embody the vision of NCHL to improve the health of the public through leadership and organizational excellence. The Leadership Award is given to an individual who has made significant leadership contributions to the health and healthcare field. Award winners come from many sectors, including healthcare delivery, community health, public health, insurance, suppliers, public policy, government, professional/trade associations, research, and academic institutions. 

2020 Call for Nominations is Now Open


2020 GLW Leadership Award Selection Committee


Peter W. Butler, Co-chair
Rush University

Jill Schwieters, Co-chair
JAS & Associates

Nancy Howell Agee
Carilion Clinic

Bob Clarke
Furst Group

Damon Boatwright
SSM Health – Wisconsin Regional

Joanne M. Conroy, MD
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health

Edgar J. Curtis
Memorial Health System

David Ertel
Vizient, Inc.

David Feinberg, MD
Google Health

Rod Hochman, MD
Providence and 2019 Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award

Michelle Hood
American Hospital Association

Shoou-Yih (Daniel) Lee, PhD
University of Michigan

Jessica T. Melton
Sentara Norfolk General Hospital

Joseph Moscola
Northwell Health

Brian Peters
Michigan Health & Hospital Association

2019 GLW Leadership Excellence Award Recipient: 
Rod Hochman, MD


Click the image above to access the 2019 press release.

For additional information about the GLW Award, please contact Nitasha Kassam at

Press Releases